It’s been a while but I’m still here. Life is in a kind of stasis. I have a part time job and I’m living with my dad. Things are OK but my finances are a wreck. I’m looking into bankruptcy. I need to do something to get back on my feet. Right now, I’m stuck in a whole I can’t seem to escape.

Otherwise, things are swell. I haven’t had a drink in over a year. The demons whimper every now and then but I’m in the habit of being sober. I’ve even been in a few bars. I drink water while my friends throw down whiskey. I’m not sure I could have done that one year ago. The best news is that my emotional health is much better. Alcohol damaged me far more than I realized. I’m not a doctor but I think the poison really messes with brain chemistry. The emotional and psychological destruction is far worse than anyone realizes. Year one was a maelstrom as my brain adjusted and healed. It’s been a slow recovery but I feel better. It’s been like riding a bronking bull for the last year and now he’s finally losing steam. He still bucks from time to time but the fire has gone out of him. It’s not a fun ride but it’s worth it. I’ll keep hanging on.

