Today is my six month anniversary. Woot! Six months without a drink. I never thought it was possible. I have to admit there has been plenty of temptation but my sobriety has been worth it – no more hangovers, no more regrettable credit card expenses, and no more mystery bruises. But all those things are minor to my mental health improvements. I still fight depression but the deep blue, suicidal quicksand that threatened to choke the life from me is receding further toward the horizon. True, I’m still broken. I always will be. But at least now I can own it and deal with it instead of denying it. Denial is the doppelgänger of alcoholism – face your denial and you’ll face your addiction.

Yep, six months. I’m celebrating it with a strong cup o’ java and a sunny Oregonian morning. Not so bad.

