Today, I walked. As I walked I met an old drinking buddy on the street. We exchanged small talk and told each other what we’ve been up to.

It was surreal to have a sober conversation with someone I’d only known drunk. I told him I was on the wagon. He congratulated me and told me he was cutting back. I hope he can. I sure couldn’t. I’m an on/off switch, not one of those dials that varies brightness. We shook hands and wished each other well. And that was that.

In other news, I had a chili burger for lunch. Bad choice. For the most part I’ve cut meat out of my diet but on occasion I splurge. Now I’m sitting in my new favorite coffee joint with a meat hangover. I think the burger was made of dark matter, which means I have a black hole in my gut. I’ve stuffed plenty of detritus down my gullet throughout the years but this is the first time I’ve eaten a singularity. I fear for my plumbing.

Thus ends another exciting day in the life of me.

