I’m toying with the idea of going back to school. It’s been a few moons since my last trip through the hallways of academia so I need to brush up on a few subjects. OK, I need to brush up on every subject. Once upon a time I knew how to negotiate the slopes of calculus and linear algebra. Now I can’t tell a matrix from a mattress. Both put me to sleep. I guess that’s the price of age. Alas, what’s a poor student to do? Internet to the rescue!

http://www.khanacademy.org

I haven’t actually started on this site but it looks pretty groovy. Hopefully I can dust off those old brain cells (the ones that survived my bourbon years) and prepare for another foray into higher education.

It’s pretty exciting to actually think about improving myself. I’d given up on that long ago. But my motivation called itself Lazarus and woke from its dirt nap. Now it’s up to me to follow through. Wish me luck. Or better yet, wish me perseverance. That’s what I need most of all.

