30 days has September, April, June, and November. I was born in June.

30 is divisible by 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, and 15.

30 was my age in 1997. I lived in Massachusetts and worked as a product manager (whatever the hell that is). The number 1 prime time TV show was “E.R.” (“Seinfeld” was number 2). The top billboard song on December 10 was “Candle in the Wind 1997” which was written about Princess Diana who died in August 1997.

30 years ago I was 16. Monday through Friday I went to school in the morning and played sports in the afternoon. I was an honor student and class Vice President, except when I was a drunkard and a stoner. The fake me – the active student – lived during the week. The real me – the budding alcoholic – came out on weekends.

30 minutes ago I began this blog. I didn’t know what to write. It’s been a half hour of pregnant pauses, deletions, rewrites, and dives onto the internet to look up statistics for 1997.

30 days ago I stopped drinking.

30 days from now I hope to say the same times two.

