It’s Black Friday, the putrid afterbirth of Thanksgiving. Since yesterday was a time to give thanks, I think today should be a time to air grievances (yay, Festivus!). Yesterday, I listed some of the things I was thankful for. Today, I think I’ll list some of the things I’m not thankful for.

Black Friday – People buying crap they don’t need, with money they don’t have, for a holiday that’s lost its meaning.

San Diego – The weather is nice but it smells like pee and wait until you meet the locals. Live here for more than a month and you’ll realize it’s the McDonald’s of large cities.

Marketing – How many beer ads did you see while watching football on Thursday? Drink up! It’s what all the cool kids are doing.

War on intelligence – I don’t know what else to call it. But have you ever noticed how intelligent people are portrayed in the media? Anyone with half a brain is a dork, nerd, geek, social misfit, or loser. If you can throw a ball, you’re a god. If you can solve a differential equation, you’re a pariah. Math is hard.

Testosterone culture – When did compassion, consideration, humility, and integrity become weaknesses instead of virtues? Why is it acceptable to hate someone just because they don’t agree with you? What’s so funny about peace, love and understanding?

OK, I’m done.

