It’s Thanksgiving. I’ll take the traditional route and list some things I’m thankful for.

Sobriety – Because waking up covered in vomit and urine isn’t the kick it used to be.

Blogging – This blog has become a lot of things to me. It’s therapy. It’s support. It’s a record of my journey. But it also does something that I didn’t expect when I started – it holds me accountable. I don’t want to start at Day 1 again.

Unemployment – No lie. I’m not even getting benefits. But time off has given me a chance to evaluate my life and stop drinking. The sad truth is that most of us suffer through a caustic work environment day in and day out. I did. It wasn’t until I left that I realized how dehumanizing my job was. This has been a time to heal and to grow – two things corporate America is not willing to let us do.

Health – For all the shit I put my body through, I’m still pretty healthy. Bonus.

Life – I’m alive. To be honest, it was touch and go for a while. On several occasions I thought about buying a one way ticket to the Great Beyond. Luckily, the Reaper had better things to do. So I’m still here and I’m still trying to figure it all out. But I’m glad to be alive. I haven’t felt that way in a long time.

Visalia – Because an angel lives there.

Instant coffee – OK, I’m sure the purists out there are scoffing but hear me out. I’ve developed a new morning routine. I heat up some milk and mix in instant coffee and sugar substitute (I’m trying to lose some weight or I’d use the real stuff). It’s convenient and awesome.

Last and least, I’m glad I’m not fumbling through some awkward family gathering trying to answer questions about, “What I’m up to.” I spent the day at home alone. That may sound lonely but I don’t feel that way. I feel relaxed. 

Happy thanksgiving to anyone reading this. I hope every day gives you plenty to be thankful for.

