Eight uninterrupted hours of sleep! I can’t remember the last time that happened. For my entire adult life I’ve slept fitfully. I usually wake up several times a night.

Last night I slept and slept and slept. I didn’t wake up once. I could never understand “morning people” but perhaps they actually fucking sleep at night. What a concept! I’m still not a morning person but at least I didn’t lie in bed for another 2 hours after I awoke. I got up and started my day.

And today is – Lucky 13. I‘m sitting outside at my favorite coffee joint watching Californians try to parallel park. It’s like watching hamsters play baseball. I’m not plagued by the demons that hounded me yesterday so life is good. I know they’ll come back but I’ll worry about that when it happens. Right now, it’s time to enjoy the silence.

I’m one day shy of two weeks and I’m going to make it. I’m too stubborn to screw it up now.

