Man, I’m tired. I didn’t sleep well at all. And now I have an ugly rash. I’ll call it the detox rash. I got it before but now I think I finally know what it is. It’s my body getting rid of all the shit inside of it. Some of that process manifest in a rash as my body expels the nastiness through my pores. Gross. Oh well, it will pass in a day or two.

In the meantime, I have to figure out how to sleep. I have some herbal tea. That might help. I know I’m detoxing right now so I have to ride it out.

I went to another meeting today. Rick is, I believe, my sponsor. We didn’t exchange friendship bracelets or anything like that but we did exchange numbers. And he gave me the Alcoholics Anonymous book. We hung out after the meeting for a bit and went over it.

I’m still a little stand-offish about the quasi-religious feel to AA but Rick had some good advice. It’s not about the Christian God, it’s about a higher power, whatever that power is for me. I think I can get behind that. Let’s face it, I have to. I know I need to stop. The rash all over my face tells me that. I just don’t know if I have the willpower.

